Kerala 441 all out;Goa 81 for 2

GCA News Bytes

Robert Fernandez and Fabid Ahmed hit a century each as Kerala scored 441 all out in the first innings and then reduced Goa to 81 for two on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C cricket match on Monday. Resuming at an overnight score of 224 for five, Kerala lost Akshay Kodoth (35) early. But Robert (109) and Fabid (106) played superb knocks, adding 129 runs together for the seventh wicket to take the team past 360-run mark. Robert hit eight fours and a six during his innings that came off 261 balls, Fabid played an aggressive knock off 122 deliveries that included seven sixes and eight fours. UPDATES: Goa vs Kerala, Ranji Trophy 2015-16, Group C match, Day 2 at PorvorimFor Goa, Amit Yadav was the most successful bowler, claiming four for 119. P Parmeswaran and Shadab Jakati supported him well, taking two wickets each. In reply, Goa were 81 for two in 32 overs when at close of play with Amogh Desai batting on 38 and Amit Yadav on one. The hosts have an uphill task as they are still trailing by 360 runs with just eight wickets in hands.
Goa have 15 points from six games while Kerala have 12 from five matches. Add to it, Goa haven’t lost a match so far but Kerala have lost one. Goa and Kerala have drawn five and four matches respectively. Goa played well in their previous match against Saurashtra where they declared their second innings on 299 for seven. Talking of Kerala, they too played well in their last match but that game was against minnows Tripura. They got three points from that game as they took a first innings lead in the encounter.
Kerala 1st Innings
V A Jagadeesh b Amit Yadav 61
Mohammed Azharuddeen lbw Prasanth Parameswaran 31
Rohan Prem b Shadab Jakati 20
Sachin Baby b Prasanth Parameswaran 20
Sanju Samson ct Snehal Kauthankar b Amit Yadav 1
Akshay Kodoth lbw R R Singh 35
Robert ct Snehal Kauthankar b Amit Yadav 109
Fabid Ahmed ct R R Singh b Darshan Misal 106
Monish Kareparambil b Shadab Jakati 13
Nidheesh M D ct Snehal Kauthankar b Amit Yadav 11
Warrier Not Out 1
TOTAL (All out; 143.4 overs) 441
R R Singh 23 4 66 1 2.87
Prasanth Parameswaran 31 15 51 2 1.65
Shadab Jakati 38 5 129 2 3.39
Amit Yadav 38.4 9 119 4 3.08
Darshan Misal 12 3 41 1 3.42
Amogh Desai 1 0 2 0 2.00
Goa 1st Innings
Sagun Kamat ct Mohammed Azharuddeen b Warrier 29
Amogh Desai Not Out 38
Snehal Kauthankar ct Sanju Samson b Monish Kareparambil 5
Amit Yadav Not Out 1
TOTAL (2 wickets; 32 overs) 81
Prasanth Parameswaran , R R Singh , Darshan Misal , Rahul Keni , Shadab Jakati , Swapnil A Asnodkar , Dheeraj Jadhav