News Byte

Dempo SC are GPL Champions
PORVORIM Dempo Sports Club won the Goa Cricket Association , Goa Professional League defeating Geno by 25 runs in the finals at the GCA ground in Porvorim. Needing to score 315 runs to win, Geno were bowled out for 290 runs on the final day. Captain of Dempo SC Darshan Misal was judged the player of the finals for his contribution with the bat and ball. Geno started cautously with opening batsman Sangram Atitkar scoring a convincing 50. However, he was the first wicket scalped by Darshan and thereafter the below three batsmen were bowled scoring just under 35 runs. Middle order batsmen Saurabh Bandekar (42) and Rahul Keani (49) did try to steady Geno's innings but it was not enough as Darshan Misal and Harshad Gadekar helping in quelling the challenge of the Geno batsmen. Darshan Misal finished by claiming five wickets in 44 overs while Harshad Gadekar claimed four wickets in 10.3 overs. GCA Secretary Daya Pagi and Treasurer Jamir Carol distributed the prizes.