Newz Byte

Goa beats Tripura to record 1st win: Vijay Hazare Trophy
NEWS BYTES SURAT Goa collected their first four points in the Vijay Hazare Trophy - 50 overs- tournament organised by BCCI with a three wicket win over Tripura at the Lalbhai Contractor stadium in Surat on Friday. Goa won the toss and put Tripura to bat and bowled the opponents for 216 in the allotted 50 overs. In return, Goa scored 217 for the loss of seven wickets in 45.3 overs. Wicket keeper KD Eknath , who was sent in as opener, scored 92 from 126 balls to set the tone of Goa’s reply. Darshan Misal who was not out on 54 from 59 balls ended as the second highest scorer for Goa. Earlier, Tripura was restricted to 216 with Lakshay Garg claiming 5wickets for Goa from his allotted 8 overs and surrendering 62 runs. Captain Amit Verma and Amulya Pandrekar claimed two wickets respectively. Snehal Kauthankar scored 35 runs for Goa to finish as the third player from Goa to cross the double digit mark.