News Byte

New Vaddem SC in finals: B Divn. (South Zone)
NEWS BYTES PORVORIM New Vaddem Sports Club beat Maratha Warriors by 45 runs to enter the finals of the South Zone B Division organised by Goa Cricket Association (GCA) at their ground in Sanguem on Tuesday. Maratha Warriors won the toss and opted to field and restricted¬† New Vaddem SC to 232 for 3 in 40 overs. Needing to score 233 for a win , Maratha Warriors was bowled for 187 in 35.1 overs. Rajwardhan Undre of New Vaddem was declared the man of the match for finishing not of out on 114 for 129 balls. Viraj Darwatkar also of New Vaddem scored 74 from 83 balls and Shadab Shaikh of Maratha Warriors scored 42 from 43 balls. Edison Gonsalves of New vaddem claimed 3 wickets in his 8 overs and gave away 36 runs to emerge with the best bowling figures. In another match, Jetty Cricket Club defeated MRF Sports Club by 4 runs. MRF won the toss and opted to field and Jetty CC lads were bowled for 219 in 44.5 overs. In return , MRF could manage 215 for the loss of 9 wickets in their allotted 45 overs. Young Stars of Moula defeated Leo Sports club by 232 runs in the B Division match of Tiswadi zone held at the GCA Academy ground in Porvorim. Young Stars of Moula scored 345 for the loss of 8 wickets in 45 overs whilst Leo SC was bowled for 113 in 35.1 overs. Walke Sarthak won the man of the match award for his 3 wicket haul in 9 overs wherein he conceeded9 runs. Sameer of Leo claimed 4 wickets in his 9 overs and gave away 69 runs. Aditya Kulkarni claimed 3 wickets in 5 overs and gave away 14 runs. Akshay Khopade of Young Stars of Moula scored 79 runs from 59 balls to finish as highest scorer of the match. Paresh Pujari ¬†scored 66 from 56 balls for Moula and Hitesh Talwar made 64 from 56 balls. Below are the scoreboards of all matches: