News Byte

Odisha beat Goa by 276 runs
Goa lost to Odisha by 276 runs in their Elite Group C, Ranji Trophy match played at Bhubaneswar on Wednesday . Goa was bundled out for a mere 111 runs as they were chasing a mammoth 387 to win. Odisha duo of Basant Mohanty and Rajesh Mohanty ran through the Goan batting order taking 5 and 4 wickets each respectively. Beginning the third day, Odisha's were bowled out for a 151 runs in their second innings-— posting a 387 run target for Goa. Krishna Das and Lakshay Garg took 4 and 5 wickets each to halt the Odisha batsmen pile more runs. Amogh Desai took the other remaining wicket. Chasing 387, Goa were in fix early in the second innings, finding themselves 11/4. Captain Sagun Kamat, Sumiran Amonkar, Keenan Vaz and Amit Verma failed to reach double digits. Amonkar and Verma were dismissed without opening their account. It was Amogh Desai along with Snehal Kauthankar who made an attempt to hold fort but Rajesh Mohanty's fine delivery bowled him out for just 18 runs. At this point Goa was 44/5. Amogh Desai scored 28 runs off 40 deliveries which included six boundaries. 20 runs later Darshan Misal was on his way back to the pavillion after the umpire raised his finger for an LBW call off Basant Mohanty's delivery. Misal could add only 20 runs to the total. Lakshay Garg too was given out in the same fashion with his innings end for just four runs. Suyash Prabhudessai was caught by Sandeep Pattnaik off Basant Mohanty's delivery for just 18 runs which came off sturdy 32 balls. Amulya Pandrekar was the last batsman to fall for a mere 12 runs.