News Byte

UP beat Goa, qualify for knockout
GCA News Bytes Uttar Pradesh beat Goa by six wickets in a Group D match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and entered the knockout stage of the premier 50-over domestic cricket tournament. Uttar Pradesh, led by Suresh Raina and having a few national players, won the toss and put Goa in to bat. The UP bowlers bundled out Goa for 218 off 49.5 overs and then chased down the target, reaching 224 for four in just 36.3 overs at Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground. With this victory, UP became the first team from Group D to enter the knockout stage of the tournament. Goa got off to a poor start as openers Swapnil Asnodkar (2) and Suraj Dongre (8) were sent back cheaply. But Sagun Kamat came to the team's rescue, hitting 57 runs off 78 balls with eight fours, while Reagan Pinto, too, played an useful knock of 66 off 81 balls with three fours. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Saurabh Dubey and Raina shared two wickets each. Chasing the target, Umang Sharma (85 not out) and Saurabh Dubey (35) gave UP a good start, adding 69 runs for the opening wicket. However, left-arm leg spinner Shadab Jakati, who removed Dubey, struck twice in a short span to get rid of Raina (29) and Eklavya Dwivedi (9). Darshan Misal then removed Shubham Chobey. UP, who were cruising comfortably at 100 for one, suddenly slumped to 134 for four. Rinku Singh then joined hands with Sharma and the two steered UP to a comfortable victory by adding 82 runs for the unbeaten fifth wicket. Sharma scored 85 (94b, 8X4,2X6) and Singh made 51 (44b, 8X4). For Goa, Jakati was the most successful bowler, taking three for 48. Brief scores: Goa: 218 all out off 49.5 overs (Reagan Pinto 66, Sagun Kamat 55; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/38, Suresh Raina 2/32). Uttar Pradesh: 224 for four off 36.3 overs (Umang Sharma 85 not out, Rinku Singh 51 not out; Shadab Jakati 3/48).