News Byte

Diksha Gawde steers Goa to second win
NEWS BYTES MARGAO Goa won their second BCCI Women's Cricket U-19 ODI League match thrashing Vidarbha by 70 runs at Margao Cricket Club. Batting first after winning the toss, Goa had a slow start with Diksha Gawde rising to the occassion with her 42 and leading the team to 137/9 in the 50 overs. In response Vidarbha was bundled out for just 67 runs. Vidarbha bowlers bowled tight and Goa's first wicket fell for 21 in the form of Shindiya Naik who managed to score 14 runs facing 29 deliveries. Naik found her self in the middle of a wrong call and got herself run out to Rupali Sahare. The second opener for Goa, Purvaja Verlekar was the second to go as she was given plump leg before wicket to MS Bodkhe's delivery. Her stay at the crease brought in only 9 run after facing 32 balls. She struck a boundary during her brief stay. Goa captain Tejashwini Duragad was out in the same over, as she struck Bodkhe's delivery that was caught by Aayushi Thakre. Duragad could score 9 runs with a boundary after facing 15 deliveries. Five overs went by and only one run taken, Goa batters found themselves in fix at 37/3, but they soon ran out of luck with the next wicket of Poorva Bhaidkar fell in the very next run. Last match's top performer, Diksha Amonkar couldn't find her rhythm this time and her cautious stay that contributed 6 runs from 26 balls ended after she was caught by Thakre off a delivery by Achal Shahu. Soon to follow her back to the pavillion was wicket keeper Divya Naik, after she was bowled by Achal Shahu for just 3 runs after facing 18 deliveries. 30 runs later when everything was looking sturdy for Goan batters, tail ender Rehna Kamat too fell for just 17 runs after she was bowled by Aayushi Thakre. Diksha Gawde and Tanaya Naik stabalised Goa's innings midway into the game. The duo took Goa to 132 before Gawde fell Aayushi Thakre for 42 after facing 87 deliveries which saw three boundaries. Next out was Sejal Satardekar who was run out by Sayali Shinde without facing a delivery or opening her account. Tanaya Naik remained not out at 26 facing 50 deliveries and hitting one boundary along with Savali Kolambkar who did not face a delivery. Vidarbha on the other hand came out onto the crease and put up a dissmal show, with the first two wickets falling for just 10 runs. Rupali Sahare and Aayushi Thakre were out for 1 and 0, as they both fell to Shindiya Naik's deliveries. SS Sadaf was the third to leave for the pavillion as she was run out by Tanaya Naik for just 2 runs. At this point Vidarbha were 18/3. Opener LM Inamdar and MS Bodkhe tried to stabalise the innings, but Bodkhe who played second fiddle to Inamdar fell for 9 runs after facing 40 deliveries. She was stumped by wicket keeper Divya Naik off a ball by Tejashwini Duragad. Two overs later and without an change in runs opener and captain, Inamdar too fell to a delivery off Duragad after she was caught by Diksha Gawde for 30. Her 58 ball inning saw four boundaries being struck. After the captain's departure wickets fell in quick succession and none of the batters were able to build a solid partnership that could steer Vidarbha past the small target. Vidarbha were bundled out for 67. It was Diksha Gawde who was the top performer of the day both with the bat and the ball as she ended with 4 wickets giving away only 7 runs. She was also the top scorer of the day for 42. Shindiya Naik and Tejashwini Duragad took 2 wickets each and gave away 13 and 2 runs. Poorva Bhaidkar too scalped one wicket and gave away 4 runs.