News Byte

Reliance win First GCL
GCA News Bytes In an exciting final of the Goa Corporate League (GCL), Reliance emerged champions defeating Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) by 18 runs in a" super over" at GCA ground,Porvorim. The score board of both the teams were tied at 136 at the end of allotted 20 overs and as such the super over was resorted to. Reliance in the super over scored 19 runs, with the help of Axar Patel not out 18. While ONGC were 1 for 2,they lost their first two wickets in three balls of the super over and both wickets were claimed by Nathu Singh. Reliance after winning the toss elected to field and put ONGC to bat first. ONGC scored 136 runs lossing eight wicket in the allotted 20 overs with the help of Samarth Singh 31 and Milind kumar 28 as their wicket fell at a regular intervals. The only bright spot in ONGC inning was 47 runs partnership for the second wicket between Samarth Singh and TanmayShrivstav 15. Nathu Singh was the most successful bowler for Relianace, who claimed three wickets giving away only 23 runs. In reply,Reliance team chasing the winning target of 137 runs, though lost first three wickets with score on the board 55 for 3. Unmukt Chand valuable 55 runs and Akshdeep Nath 27 yielded 73 runs for the fourth wicket with a score on the board 128 for 4 in 19 overs and needing 9 runs for an out right win in six balls and it looked like Reliance will do it but ONGC restricted them for 136 for 5 at the end of the 20th over. Reliance in the super over scored 19 runs with the help ofAxar Patel not out 18. While ONGC lost two wickets with one runs in the first three balls of the super over. Scores in Brief: ONGC: 136 for 8 Samarth Singh 31,, MilindKumar 28, Tanmay Shrivastav 15. Nathu Singh 3 for 23, J. Suchith 2 for 21. Reliance: 136 for 5 Unmukt Chand 55, AkshdeepNath 27, NikhilNaik 21. Suhail Sharma 2 for 22 and Nitish Rana 2 for 17. With this win, Reliance were richer by Rs 15 lakhs and the tropy. ONGC had to be content with a cash Prize of Rs 10 lakh and also a trophy. Unmukt Chand ( Reliance)was adjudged the man of the match. While Nikhil Naik( Reliance) was adjuged the man of the series and Tanmay Shrivastav( ONGG) Best Batsman and Krunal Pandya (Reliance) as best bowler.