News Byte

MPT SC wins C Divn. South Zone finals
NEWS BYTES PORVORIM MPT Sports Club won the South Zone C Division league organised by Goa Cricket Association (GCA) defeating Mashem cricket Club by a wicket at the GCA cricket ground in Sanguem on Saturday. Mashem Cricket ¬†Club won the toss and opted to bat and were dismissed by the winners for 170 in 32.2 overs. MPT Sports Club crossed the target set for them by scoring 174 and losing 9 wickets in 44.4 overs. Damodar Kerkar of MPT was declared the man of the match for his 4 wicket haul in 8.2 overs and surrendering 23 runs. Shameek Kolambkar of Mashem Cricket Club also claimed four wickets but in 9 overs and he gave away 22 runs. Prashant Haldankar of MPT finished with bowling figures of 3-8-36. Sanjay Dabholkar of MPT finished as the highest scoring with his 41 runs from 59 balls. Arif Shaikh of MPT scored 38 from 74 balls to finish as the second highest score of the match and Sunil Gawas of MPT was not out on 35 from 62 balls. Below is the scoreboard of the final: