News Byte

Maruti SC registers win over Betalbatim CC: Divn. B (South Zone)
NEWS BYTES PORVORIM Maruti Sports Club got the better of Betalbatim Cricket Club by 106 runs in the South Zone B Division League match organized by Goa Cricket Association (GCA) at MCC ground in Margao on Saturday. Betalbatim Cricket Club won the toss and elected to field and Maruti SC was bowled out for 202 in 39.5 overs. The winners then restricted Betalbatim to 96 for the loss of 9 wickets in 20.2 overs. Vipul Kane of Maruti SC was declared the Man of the Match for his 91 runs from 108 balls. Varape Atish of betalbatim Cricket Club finished as the second highest scorer of the match with his 36 from 37 balls. Shibe Sail ended as the third highest scorer with 33 from 51 balls. Nagappa Kannur of Maruti claimed 3 wickets in his 3 overs while Shreyas Nayak and Nitin Kalekar also finished with three wickets each. In the C Division match , Mashem Cricket Club beat Shiroda Youth Club by 47 runs in the super Knock Out match held at GCA ground in Sanguem. Mashem CC was asked to bath and they managed to score 105 runs in 23.4 overs and later managed to bowl out rivals Shiroda Youth Club for 58 in 17.3 overs. Sandesh Velip of Mashem Cricket Club won the Man of the Match award for his 5 wicket haul in 6 overs. He conceded 22 runs. Yash Lokare of Shiroda also claimed 5 wickets from 2.4 overs and gave away 13 runs. Santosh Satarkar scored 23 runs from 18 balls to finish as the highest scorer of the match. Below are the links to the scorecards: